In 1980, Nancy G. Brinker promised her dying sister, Susan, that she would do everything in her power to end breast cancer forever. In 1982, that promise became the Susan G. Komen® organization and the beginning of a global movement. What was started with $200 and a shoebox full of potential donor names has now grown into the world’s largest nonprofit source of funding for the fight against breast cancer. To date, we’ve invested more than $2.6 billion in groundbreaking research, community health outreach, advocacy and programs in more than 30 countries. Our efforts have helped reduce death rates from breast cancer by 34 percent since 1990; and has helped improve five-year relative survival rates for early stage cancers from 74 to 99 percent. And we won’t stop until our promise is fulfilled.


Susan G. Komen Ozark was established in 1998 by a group of dedicated community volunteers who wanted to help increase awareness of breast cancer and raise funds to support the promise of saving lives. Shortly after the Affiliate founding, the first Race for the Cure was held on April 17, 1999 at the Northwest Arkansas Mall in Fayetteville, Arkansas. The 5K Run/Walk and 2K Family Walk raised $120,000 and has grown to raising nearly $800,000 in 2015.

Since 1998, the Ozark Affiliate has brought a local focus to an important public health concern. The Affiliate continues to grow to meet the ever increasing need for breast health services, education, treatment assistance, support and navigation for those underinsured and uninsured members of the community. Through the hard work of volunteers and staff, Komen Ozark continues to look for ways to grow and support more communities. The first expansion of the service area happened in 2009, when two additional counties-Boone and Newton were annexed into the service area for a total of eight counties. The second expansion was in 2011, when the Affiliate annexed Stone and Taney Counties located in Missouri. As of July 2011, the Ozark Affiliate service area includes; Benton, Boone, Carroll, Crawford, Madison, Newton, Sebastian and Washington Counties in Arkansas and Stone and Taney Counties in Missouri.